Blue Rose – Mini Review

br1

Since I played this game over a month ago, it’s not super fresh in my mind, so a mini-review it is!

Lena is a Templar of the Blue Rose, which is a sort of magical knight. They don’t have super powers, but can draw on the Blue Rose to do small feats of magic and strengthen themselves in battle. Due to various reason, Lena finds herself in this small, off-the-map town, interacting with different people there, and trying to solve a mystery. On to the guys (and girl)!

I started with Simon, because he is her superior in the Templar, and they already have an established friendship. I thought he would be the easiest to dive in to the game. Well, he was also the most BORING. I’m pretty easy going and like most characters, but ugh! I couldn’t finish his route fast enough. I was so uninterested in him. Seriously, I have never played a more boring otome character. I can’t remember anything else about him.

br3

I played Tobias next. Tobias starts out very prickly. That’s the best word I can use to describe him. Like a cute hedgehog you want to get closer to, but he feels threatened so he hides with his spikes. He is very protective of this hidden village, so he doesn’t like Lena being there, afraid she is going to run back and tell her superiors about this place so they can start running it. But he is also very kind. Lena starts out injured, and Tobias is the one that finds her, fixes her up, and gives her a place to stay. He fixes food for her, and even gives up his bedroom to her. I liked Tobias. Once you get past his prickliness, he’s shy, and adorable, and sweet. I just wanted to cuddle him and make him blush all the time.

br4

Now I really liked Gavin. I went in thinking I’d like Tobias the most, but it ended up being Gavin. His character took me by surprise. He’s funny and charming, and likes Lena pretty much from the beginning. He’s got an interesting back story, which adds depth to his character and really makes Lena re-evaluate some things she has been taught. He’s also a former high ranking soldier, so when the fighting goes down with Adele, he’s very useful as Lena’s partner. I think they make a great pair. Lena’s seriousness and formality is tempered by his easy-going ways, and her good heart and positive outlook on life I think helps him with some of his dark past.

Next is Erin. Up to this point in my gaming, I had not done a female route. But I thought she was cute and sweet, a very normal girl that has had a hard life till this point – someone you’d want to protect. So I went for it. I liked her character, but disliked her route. I thought Erin and Lena would make a super cute couple, but other then acknowledging that Erin has feelings for Lena, I don’t feel like much happens. I mean, this is a romance game! Even if they are both girls, I want some romance, a kiss, anything! So, that was a disappointment, especially since I liked Erin as a character, and as a possible love interest for Lena.

br5

Lastly is Aran. Again, I really liked this character, but didn’t care for how the route ended. DO NOT keep reading if you don’t want spoilers. Aran is a spirit that lives in the area. He keeps watch over the forest, mountain, and sort of hangs around the village since it’s in the middle of his home. Lena and him connect, I think because Lena is not quite a normal human, being a Templar, with her spiritual powers and such. Throughout the story they become close, relying on each other. It’s not super romantic, but I didn’t mind because Aran isn’t human, so I didn’t expect a super lovey-dovey romance from him. I think their relationship made sense, and I really enjoyed it. It was different. You could feel a closeness with a hint of romantic interest, without it being in your face. And then the end…Aran dies saving Lena, the mountain, and everyone else from Adele. WHAT THE HECK! This was supposed to be the good end. Some people probably don’t mind if the love interest is killed off, but I do. Ohhh the anger.

So, overall, I think Blue Rose is worth it. I like strong female characters, especially ones that can fight, and that’s what Lena is. You don’t find many otome heroines like her. The setting and story are also interesting and different. And while I didn’t like the way all the routes went, I did like all the characters (except Simon). Sometimes I see the game on sale. I’d say it’s definitely worth it then.

br6

2 thoughts on “Blue Rose – Mini Review

  1. I liked Simon’s route best, but then, there are a lot of layers to his character. And there is another ending with Aran. But Tobias and especially Gavin were also good stories.

Leave a Reply

