Heart no Kuni no Alice – Intro

Sorry I have not updated in awhile! But I haven’t played any otome games recently…I was on vacation for a week, then catching up on the large amount of anime I am watching, and missed while I was on vacation. Then, something happened that immediately got me playing again…

alice 1

Heart no Kuni no Alice, a.k.a. Alice in the Country of Hearts, has been translated into English! Known as Alice in the Heart, it can now be played on iPhone or Android. This game has been around for a long time, and has many incarnations on different platforms, along with a multitude of fan discs and follow-up games. I consider it one of the most famous otome franchises. So I was ECSTATIC when English Otome Games suddenly announced I could get it on my phone! I immediately downloaded.

You can buy a package with all the characters (voiced or non-voiced), but you can also buy each character individually, like a Voltage game. Because of this, it seems the game play has been altered quite a bit from the original. From my understanding, in the original, you go around for 300 turns (200 in the Anniversary edition) to visit different people in Wonderland. You get different events with them, and slowly work your way to the route for whichever guy you want through your interactions and choices. I have only played one route so far (Peter White), but I basically just had to choose to stay at Heart Castle, then show my interest in him over Ace and Vivaldi, to get on his route. That was it. The game let me visit other areas a couple times in the beginning, but otherwise the events just seemed to run on auto, and I made my choices. I’ve heard the original game was difficult/tedious due to all the turns you had to go through, so maybe this is a good thing?

I got Peter’s Stay Good End, and I’ll review later. I’m unsure so far how to get any of the bad ends, or the ends that involve multiple characters. I also know you can stay somewhere else, and still get an end for Peter, but I’m unsure how to do that as well. When I chose to stay at Heart Castle, it didn’t give me an option to show interest in anyone other then it’s occupants. The Clocktower where Julius lives was also not an option, but I’ve heard his route is  only available after you play Ace’s route…so hopefully I can choose him in the future. There aren’t many good walkthroughs for this game in English, so I’m kind of going into this blind.

My big complaint with this game is the translation. Here are some examples…

General 2

General 1

General 3

Okay so that last one is really bad; I’m not even sure what it’s saying. Most lines aren’t that bad. But there are quite a few where the spelling or grammar is wrong.  It seems like they fed the dialogue into a computer to translate, then immediately used it, without an English speaking human to look it over. I suppose that gets it done cheaply and quickly. Sometimes the lines are really bad; sometimes I can read for a bit without noticing anything. I’m really upset about the crappy translation, and I’m hoping this does not become a trend for otome games coming over. Please, for the love of God, pay an English speaking person for a week to fix the dialogue appropriately.

That being said, I bought the full package of all the characters. Why? A big reason is I want to support otome games in the US. I’m hoping with this, and the new Hiiro no Kakera game released recently (also for the phone), more games will keep coming. I’d prefer them on my computer, or a console, but I’ll take them however I can get them. The other reason is I’ve read quite a few of the Alice in the Country of Hearts manga, and I really love the characters. They are ALL great. I know I’m going to want to play them all, so I got the full package. Plus, it seems like the full package is the only one that has the true ending included? I guess we’ll see as I go along. Also, the game is fully voiced, which is rare for otome games in the US, and it’s awesome. It really brought the characters to life for me.

So that’s all for now. I’ll review Peter soon. I was having a hard time deciding who to do next, but I started Ace. I’ll save Vivaldi for close to the end, but between Peter and Ace, I’m spending a lot of time at Heart Castle with these three, who I love!

alice 3

 

4 thoughts on “Heart no Kuni no Alice – Intro

  1. Hahaaha oh my god that last screencap of the translation!!!! Wtf!???
    I know you wanna support English otome games in the US but it makes me feel like it makes QR think that they can take advantage of their English speaking fans with garbage translations like this and get away with it (´・ω・`)

  2. I guess I do feel taken advantage of…but I’m also desperate! LoL! I’m an otome slut.

    But if it wasn’t this game, which I know I already like the characters, I probably wouldn’t have shelled out all the money for it. So Quin Rose gets this ONE free pass.

    • I played it on my iPhone. It was an app you could download. I believe you could get it on Android as well. However I just tried searching for the app and I couldn’t find it. I’m not sure if they took it down or not. I have a new phone now and I did not re-download the app. As far as I know, it was only released on mobile. Try checking your phone’s app store. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

