Summer Anime Season 2015

I’ve been on a long vacation, so this post is a little late, but I’ve been able to watch 2 episodes of the new shows instead of one, so that helps me get a better idea of what they are about.

I wasn’t excited about last season, but it ended up having quite a few good shows! Seraph of the End definitely ended up being my favorite, and I’m going to start reading the manga. Yu started off as a typical, arrogant, shounen hero, but I feel he got a lot better towards the end. He learned to work as a team member, and not always charge blindly into situations. And the reunion with Mika! Oh good heavens, that was intense. Considering this is a shounen show, I’m surprised at how “coupley” Mika and Yu seem. And Shinoa was amazing! I’d watch the show for her alone. I can’t remember a girl character like her in quite some time. Her amazingness deserves it’s own blog post. I can’t wait for fall for more of this show!

vlcsnap-2015-04-24-22h44m32s363

While Seraph ended up being my personal favorite show, I can’t say it was the best show. That I believe would be Blood Blockade Battlefront (and it seems most people agree with me). BUT! The last episode has been delayed!! So I’m reserving final judgment until I see the ending. I also really loved Food Wars, and will probably get the manga. The foodgasms in the beginning I thought were weird, and they still are…but this show about cooking is somehow awesome. I really love Soma. He’s a great character, and I like in the final episode he was able to learn something and finally realized that being at this school will turn him into a better chef. I also love Megumi and Isshiki. I’m so glad this is getting a second season.

Now onto the new shows! Sadly, this is another season where I was excited for very few shows. I was really only looking forward to Aoharu x Machinegun and Snow White with the Red Hair.

Shows I’ll Be Watching:
Rokka – Braves of the Six Flowers-
Charlotte
Aoharu x Machinegun
GATE
Rampo Kitan: Game of Laplace
Snow White with the Red Hair
Gangsta

I may watch Overlord, Chaos Dragon, and Castle Town Dandelion…I haven’t decided yet.

Shows I’m continuing from last season include:
The Heroic Legend of Arslan
Food Wars
My Love Story
World Trigger
Sailormoon Crystal

I ended up dropping Rin-ne, Mikagura School Suite, Plastic Memories, and Gunslinger Stratos, although I may watch the last two at some point.

Of the new shows, Rokka really surprised me. It was the first new show I watched and really started the season off with a bang! The first 5 minutes had amazing animation, I think the best I’ve seen in awhile. Adlet ended up being a really cool character, and I can’t wait to be introduced to the other Braves. The overall story is really interesting and I can’t wait to see where this goes.

Charlotte was not what I was expecting. It was incredibly beautiful to look at, but the first episode had me cracking up due to main character Yuu’s split personality. I don’t know if his deviousness was meant to be so funny, but I thought it was. I’m hoping the other characters whip him into shape and turn him into a less selfish person. While the first episode was funny, the second took a sad, serious turn. Knowing who the creator of this is, and the studio behind it, I’m expecting more of that…

And, I loved Aoharu x Machinegun! This is another one that I wouldn’t say is the best show, but it caught me. It reminded me a little of Ouran High School Host Club with a more grown up, violent feel. A show revolving around survival games seems incredibly random to me, but it will certainly be different. Plus, hot guys!! And I love all three main characters. I love girls that can kick ass. Can’t wait to see where this goes!

tumblr_nq5zcx1SSL1sgr8vvo1_500

The biggest surprise so far for me has been my crush for this season…more then Prince Zen from Snow White or Masamune from Aoharu, I can’t help but be drawn to Nicolas from Gangsta! I don’t know if it’s the tribal tattoos, the dog tags, or what…but he’s just so badass swinging around his samurai sword in his suit. And the fact that he’s deaf puts a really interesting spin on the character. I really want to know more about him! I really love the opening for this show too…Stereo Dive Foundation is one of my favorites.

This season has surprised me so far, so hopefully these shows continue to be good!

Leave a Reply

